What's an EHR?

An electronic health record is a secure lifetime record of your health history. It gives your health care team, including family doctor, nurses, emergency room clinicians and specialists, real-time access to your relevant medical information, so they can provide the best care for you.

ehr icon
ehr benefits icon
ehr includes icon

What are the benefits?

  • With complete, up-to-date information, your health care team can make faster and more accurate treatment decisions
  • You will experience more coordinated care between di­fferent members of your care team, and different settings, like a doctor's office or hospital
  • There will be less need for you to repeat your medical history as you move from one health care setting to another
  • Since your health care provider can access your lab results you'll experience fewer duplicate tests

Personal health information that may be available in your digital health record includes:

  • Allergy information
  • Cardiovascular reports
  • Diagnostic imaging reports (e.g. X-rays)
  • Emergency department visits
  • Home care and long-term care information
  • Hospital discharge summaries and reports
  • Infection control information
  • Lab reports
  • Medical history
  • Drug and Pharmacy Service Information
  • Mental health information
  • Neurophysiology reports
  • Patient consultation reports
  • Patient demographics
  • Respiratory reports
  • Visit or encounter details

eHealth In Your Circle of Care

Today, eHealth Ontario systems are being used by clinicians at hospitals, clinics, long-term care homes and community care access centres across the province to provide you with the best care experience.

circle of care icon
acute care icon
primary care icon
community care icon

Acute Care

Ontario hospitals are now contributing to and sharing important patient information and documents with health care professionals across the continuum of care using our systems such as ClinicalConnect and ConnectingOntario. Clinicians in hospitals are able to view consultation records, lab and diagnostic reports and other relevant patient health information - all in one place.

For example, when you visit an emergency ward, clinicians can get a comprehensive view of your health history instantly, and can focus on diagnosing and making treatment decisions without having to perform repeat tests or wait to receive additional information from other organizations.

Primary Care

Ontarians rely on primary care providers such as family doctors and nurse practitioners for their general health and well-being. Today, the majority of primary care providers use electronic medical record software to record patient information and access relevant test results and reports.

For example, when you visit your family doctor, he/she can record clinical notes and medications, check for allergies, view lab results, enter prescription orders make referrals to other physicians and specialists, all by accessing your file by computer.

Community Care

Electronic Health care records are enhancing the quality of care in community settings. They enable these caregivers to efficiently coordinate patient care. Organizations like Community Care Access Centres are using eHealth Ontario technology such as ConnectingOntario and Clinical Connect to look at patients' medical histories and ensure a smooth transition to community-based care settings.

For example, when a patient is sent home from a hospital, but requires home-based care, his/her physician can immediately connect to their digital health record to see what medications were prescribed and modify doses as needed. This saves time and enables the physician to help the patient recover more comfortably and quickly.

What does eHealth Ontario do?

We are responsible for delivering a comprehensive, patient-focused, secure and private electronic health care system by building and connecting IT systems across the province. We make it easy for health care providers to access and share the information they need - when and where they need it - to improve both quality and access to health care for the people of Ontario.

Learn More

Définition d'un DSE

Un dossier de santé électronique (DSE) est un dossier sécurisé de vos antécédents médicaux depuis votre naissance. Il donne aux membres de votre équipe de soins de santé, y compris votre médecin de famille, le personnel infirmier, les cliniciens des services des urgences et les spécialistes, un accès en temps réel à vos renseignements médicaux pertinents, pour qu'ils puissent vous offrir les soins qui vous conviennent le mieux.

ehr icon
ehr benefits icon
ehr includes icon

Avantages

  • En ayant accès à des renseignements complets et à jour, les membres de votre équipe de soins de santé peuvent prendre des décisions plus rapides et plus précises à l'égard de votre traitement.
  • Vous recevrez des soins plus coordonnés entre les différents membres de votre équipe de soins et entre les différents établissements, comme le cabinet du médecin et l'hôpital.
  • Vous aurez moins souvent à répéter vos antécédents médicaux d'un établissement de soins de santé à l'autre.
  • Puisque votre fournisseur de soins de santé a accès à vos résultats de laboratoire, vous aurez moins souvent à repasser le même examen.

Les renseignements personnels sur la santé que peut contenir votre dossier de santé numérique comprennent ce qui suit :

  • antécédents médicaux
  • détails des visites ou des rencontres
  • données démographiques du patient
  • information sur les allergies
  • profil pharmaceutique
  • rapports cardiovasculaires
  • rapports de consultation du patient
  • rapports de laboratoire
  • rapports d'imagerie diagnostique (p. ex., rayons X)
  • rapports neurophysiologiques
  • rapports respiratoires
  • renseignements sur la lutte contre les infections
  • renseignements sur la santé mentale
  • renseignements sur les soins à domicile et les soins de longue durée
  • sommaires et rapports de congé d'hôpital
  • visites aux services des urgences

CyberSanté dans votre cercle de soins

De nos jours, les cliniciens dans les hôpitaux, les cliniques, les foyers de soins de longue durée et les centres d'accès aux soins communautaires à l'échelle de la province utilisent les systèmes de cyberSanté Ontario pour vous offrir la meilleure expérience de soins.

circle of care icon
acute care icon
primary care icon
community care icon

Soins actifs

Les hôpitaux de l'Ontario contribuent maintenant aux renseignements et aux documents importants sur les patients et les partagent avec les professionnels de la santé dans l'ensemble du continuum de soins, à l'aide de nos systèmes comme ClinicalConnect et ConnexionOntario. Les cliniciens dans les hôpitaux peuvent consulter en un seul endroit les rapports de laboratoire et de diagnostic, les dossiers de consultation ainsi que d'autres renseignements pertinents sur la santé des patients.

Par exemple, lorsque vous vous rendez dans un service des urgences, les cliniciens peuvent obtenir un tableau complet de vos antécédents médicaux sur-le-champ, ce qui leur permet de se concentrer sur le diagnostic et les décisions en matière de traitement sans avoir à vous faire repasser des examens qui ont déjà été faits ou à attendre des renseignements supplémentaires provenant d'autres organismes.

Soins primaires

Les Ontariennes et les Ontariens se fient aux fournisseurs de soins primaires comme les médecins de famille et les infirmières et infirmiers praticiens pour leur santé générale et leur bien-être. Aujourd'hui, la majorité de ces fournisseurs utilisent un logiciel de dossiers médicaux électroniques pour consigner les renseignements sur les patients et consulter les résultats et les rapports d'examen pertinents.

Par exemple, lorsque vous consultez votre médecin de famille, il peut consigner les médicaments et des notes cliniques, vérifier les allergies, voir les résultats de laboratoire, entrer des ordonnances et vous aiguiller vers d'autres médecins et spécialistes, tout cela en accédant à votre dossier par ordinateur.

Soins en milieu communautaire

Les dossiers de santé électroniques améliorent la qualité des soins dans les milieux communautaires. Ils permettent aux fournisseurs de soins qui travaillent dans ces milieux de coordonner efficacement les soins aux patients. Les organismes comme les centres d'accès aux soins communautaires utilisent la technologie de cyberSanté Ontario, par exemple ConnexionOntario et ClinicalConnect, pour consulter les antécédents médicaux des patients et assurer une transition en douceur vers les établissements de soins communautaires.

Par exemple, lorsqu'un patient reçoit son congé de l'hôpital, mais qu'il nécessite des soins à domicile, son médecin peut immédiatement consulter son dossier de santé numérique pour voir les médicaments qui ont été prescrits et modifier la posologie au besoin. Cela permet de gagner du temps, et le médecin peut ainsi aider le patient à se rétablir de façon plus confortable et plus rapidement.

Que fait cyberSanté Ontario?

Nous sommes chargés de mettre sur pied un système de dossiers de santé électroniques exhaustif, axé sur les patients, sécuritaire et confidentiel en établissant et en reliant des systèmes de TI à l'échelle de la province. Nous faisons en sorte que les fournisseurs de soins de santé puissent facilement consulter et partager les renseignements dont ils ont besoin – au moment et à l'endroit où ils en ont besoin – dans le but d'améliorer à la fois la qualité des soins de santé et l'accès à ces soins pour la population ontarienne..

En savoir davantage