Digital Health Immunization Repository Specification – FHIR

To enable the vision of a provincial immunization system where individuals, health care providers, and public health all have real-time access to the same immunization information, Ontario is taking a coordinated approach to facilitate easier collection of, and access to, complete, accurate, and timely immunization records.

The goal is to improve health outcomes by making comprehensive immunization information accessible in real time to support health care providers in clinical practice and to engage the public as active partners in managing their health. Key to this approach is the provincial digital health immunization repository (DHIR) – a centralized repository of standardized electronic immunization data which forms the foundation of a broader interoperable ecosystem for immunization data in Ontario. The DHIR currently contains approximately 95 million standardized immunization records for over 6.5 million clients.

The DHIR primarily supports data sharing for public health purposes; Ontario’s 36 public health units access the repository through Panorama. However, the public is also able to access and update their immunization records through a web-based tool called Immunization Connect Ontario/Digital Yellow Card (ICON/DYC).

To expand immunization data access options for both health care providers and the public, a new upcoming release of DHIR will make it possible for health care providers to access and update the DHIR through a clinician-oriented version of the ICON web tool. The DHIR specification describes the data store environment and web services for submitting and retrieving immunization data. Intended approaches for expanded clinical access include DHIR integration with regional and provincial clinical viewers, and direct integration with electronic medical record (EMR) systems. Expanded public (consumer) access will be accomplished through DHIR integration with consumer applications and patient portals.

Scope

DHIR Release 3 is built on the FHIR (Fast Healthcare Interoperability Resources ®) standard for trial use Release 3. DHIR Release 3 specifies profiles for the following FHIR resources:

  • Patient
  • Immunization
  • ImmunizationRecommendation
  • RelatedPerson
  • Practitioner
  • Organization
  • MessageHeader
  • Communication

This specification ensures all information technology systems that retrieve immunization data from and contribute immunization data to the DHIR can exchange and understand the content through standardized HL7 messages based on FHIR specification and terminologies.

Status

This specification will be available to download for stakeholder review between October 18 and November 16, 2017. Once this review period concludes, the specification then goes through a formal governance committee review and approval process.

FHIR is an evolving trial-for-use standard, so additional changes by HL7 are expected. We will continue to monitor developments and assess whether or not there are impacts, and publish updates as they emerge.

Get Our Standards Package

Sign up and download the complete Digital Health Immunization Repository Specification – FHIR Standard Package

This publication has been exempted from translation under the French Language Services Act as per O. Reg. 671/92. This publication is technical in nature and is available in English only due to its limited targeted audience.

Usage Agreement

The content of eHealth Ontario’s standards and specifications including but not limited to, information, materials and texts provided on this website is protected, by copyright law and international treaties.

This information has been posted with the intent that it be available and accessible for personal and non-commercial use. Reproduction of multiple copies of eHealth Ontario EHR interoperability standards and specifications content from our website, in whole or in part, for commercial use, resale or distribution is strictly prohibited except with the prior written permission of eHealth Ontario.

eHealth Ontario is committed to respecting your privacy and protecting your personal information. The handling of personal information by eHealth Ontario is governed by the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (FIPPA). For more information, view our Privacy Statement.

Spécification du Répertoire numérique des immunisations – FHIR

Afin de permettre la vision d'un système provincial de vaccination où les particuliers, les fournisseurs de soins de santé et les bureaux de santé publique ont tous accès aux mêmes renseignements sur la vaccination en temps réel, l'Ontario adopte une approche coordonnée dans le but de faciliter la collecte de renseignements relatifs à la vaccination ainsi que l'accès en temps opportun à des dossiers d'immunisation complets et exacts.

L'objectif est d'améliorer les résultats en matière de santé en rendant tous les renseignements sur la vaccination accessibles en temps réel pour soutenir les fournisseurs de soins de santé en pratique clinique et faire participer le public à titre de partenaires actifs dans la gestion de leur santé. L'élément essentiel de cette démarche est le Répertoire numérique des immunisations provincial (RNI) – un répertoire centralisé de données électroniques normalisées sur la vaccination qui constitue la base d'un écosystème interopérable élargi pour les données de vaccination en Ontario. Le RNI contient actuellement environ 95 millions de dossiers d'immunisation normalisés appartenant à plus de 6,5 millions de clients.

Le RNI soutient principalement le partage de données à des fins de santé publique; 36 bureaux de santé publique de l'Ontario ont accès au répertoire par l'entremise de l'initiative Panorama. Toutefois, le public est également en mesure d'y accéder et de mettre à jour leur dossier d'immunisation grâce à l'outil en ligne Connexion immunisations Ontario/Digital Yellow Card (carte jaune numérique) (CION/DYC).

Afin d'accroître les possibilités d'accès aux données d'immunisation tant pour les fournisseurs de soins de santé que le public, une nouvelle publication imminente du RNI permettra aux fournisseurs de soins de santé d'accéder au RNI et de le mettre à jour au moyen d'une version de l'outil en ligne CION axée sur les cliniciens. La spécification du RNI décrit l'environnement de magasin de données et de services en ligne permettant de soumettre et de récupérer les données sur l'immunisation. Des démarches destinées à élargir l'accès clinique comprennent l'intégration du RNI aux visualiseurs cliniques régionaux et provinciaux, et l'intégration directe aux systèmes de dossier médical électronique (DME). Le public (les consommateurs) bénéficiera d'un accès élargi grâce à l'intégration du RNI dans les applications destinées aux consommateurs et portails pour les patients.

Portée

La 3e parution du RNI est fondée sur la 3e parution de la norme expérimentale FHIR (Fast Healthcare Interoperability Resources ®). La 3e parution du RNI précise les profils des ressources du FHIR suivantes :

  • Patient (patient)
  • Immunization (vaccination)
  • ImmunizationRecommendation (recommandation en matière d'immunisation)
  • RelatedPerson (personne liée)
  • Practitioner (praticien)
  • Organization (organisme)
  • Messageheader (objet du message)
  • Communication (communication)

Cette spécification fait en sorte que tous les systèmes de technologie de l'information qui récupèrent et versent des données d'immunisation dans le RNI puissent échanger et comprendre le contenu grâce à des messages normalisés de HL7 fondés sur la spécification et la terminologie de FHIR.

État

Il sera possible de télécharger cette spécification aux fins d'examen par les parties intéressées entre le 18 octobre et le 16 novembre 2017. Une fois la période d'examen terminée, la spécification sera présentée à un comité de gouvernance officiel aux fins d'examen et d'approbation.

FHIR est une norme expérimentale évolutive, aussi d'autres modifications par HL7 sont attendues. Nous continuerons de surveiller les progrès et d'évaluer si des répercussions existent, et de publier des mises à jour au fur et à mesure.

Obtenez Nos normes Package

Téléchargez la version complète de la trousse sur la Spécification du Répertoire numérique des immunisations – FHIR

Cette publication a été exemptée de la traduction en vertu de la Loi sur les services en français selon le règlement 671/92. Cette publication est de nature technique et est disponible en anglais uniquement en raison de son public cible limité.

Entente d’utilisation

Le contenu des normes et spécifications de cyberSanté Ontario incluant, sans s'y limiter, les renseignements, documents et textes fournis sur le présent site Web, est protégé par la loi sur le droit d’auteur et des traités internationaux. Ces renseignements ont été affichés dans le but de les rendre accessibles à des fins d'utilisation personnelle et non commerciale. La reproduction de multiples exemplaires du contenu portant sur les spécifications et normes d'interopérabilité des DSE de cyberSanté Ontario se trouvant sur notre site Web, en tout ou en partie, à des fins commerciales, de revente ou de distribution est strictement interdite, sauf avec l'autorisation préalable écrite de cyberSanté Ontario.

cyberSanté Ontario s'engage à respecter votre vie privée et vos renseignements personnels. La manipulation des renseignements personnels par cyberSanté Ontario est régie par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la protection de la vie privée. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez notre Déclaration sur le respect de la vie privée.